Kitsaki In the Community

Kitsaki is committed to investing in community, and to developing training and employment opportunities for LLRIB members.

Profit Distribution

  • Over $20 million to LLRIB Communities since 2009
  • Leader in distributing dividends to its owner communities
  • Contributions to housing, elder and youth programs, land and resource management, community business development, cultural projects, treaty activities, education, training and more

Community Benefits

  • More than $1 million to important community initiatives since 2010, including:
  • Wake assistance and donations
  • Healing Our Communities Fund
  • Wild rice harvester donations and leases
  • Fire assistance
  • Elders Gathering
  • Hospitals


  • $200,000 in scholarships for band members since 2018
  • Collaboration Agreement support for scholarship resources with Cameco – current program sees LLRIB, Kitsaki and Cameco match investments of $50,000 per year ($150,000 annually)

Land and Resource Management

  • Funding of the Land and Resource Management Board
  • Regular meetings to address various lands and resource-related issues
  • Development of Terms of Reference and land and resource policies
  • Improved communication between membership, industry and government on projects that impact traditional users and LLRIB membership
  • Funding for Loss of Use Process
  • Funding for Treaty Land Use mapping 2014-2016

About Our Community

Lac La Ronge Indian Band is the largest First Nation in Saskatchewan, with a population of more than 11,000 members. They are a Woodland Cree Nation, and intensely proud of their culture and language. Located in north-central Saskatchewan, in Treaty 6 territory, LLRIB is located on the edge of the Pre-Cambrian Shield, with territory ranging from rich farmland to boreal forest and the Churchill River. LLRIB is a multi-reserve band that includes six communities: Little Red River, Morin Lake (Hall Lake), La Ronge, Sucker River, Stanley Mission, and Grandmother’s Bay. LLRIB is governed by an elected Chief and 12 Councillors. Chief Tammy Cook-Searson has served in the role since she was elected in 2006.